2012 was a new chapter in the Canterbury Building’s history as work completed on the University’s new flagship Student Services Hub, a striking new feature of the Lampeter campus.
Substantial demolition work was carried out and the Canterbury Building offers new dedicated facilities for all student support services along with meeting space and wireless access to online services. The building offers a ‘front door’ and meets most of the day-to-day needs of the students.
The Canterbury Building was originally constructed in the 19thcentury. The foundation stone was laid by the Archbishop of Canterbury in 1885 and the building was officially opened on 24 June 1887. It contained a physical science laboratory, two lecture rooms, and new accommodation.
However, structural problems forced the university to demolish the original building in the summer of 1971. The Canterbury Building was re-opened on 20 October 1973 and until recently housed the History, Classics, and English departments.
A range of integrated student-facing services, from finance and accommodation to learning support, Faculty office, and Registry services, are housed in the iconic Canterbury building.